Thursday July 22

The Kissing Couple

The romance is still there even after a 58 year relationship with almost 55 of them in Holy Matrimony.  We dated three years before I convinced June to marry me.  Our care giver Shellie Cox snapped this photo as we were ending our morning walk at our driveway.

June has been doing incredibly well with loads of laughter, surprisingly humorous and joking, and repeated attempts to carry on conversation.  Recently we have been blessed with family and friends dropping in.  June always perks up when someone comes to visit.  She surprised me several days ago; she received a card in the mail and I heard her reading it aloud.  She has been unable to make out writing.  She continues on the prescribed medications (Aricept, Namenda, Sorequel) plus Coconut Oil daily and vitamins.

Today is Lewy Body Dementia support group which I will be attending.  The past meetings have been very helpful.  I am also now involved in two Bible study groups each week and they are meaningful to me.

I am trying to work with Shellie to arrange hours so she has adequate time with her children.  Tomorrow we will interview a potential caregiver who would come for only a few hours each evening and possibly all day Saturday.  Shellie has been a real blessing to June.  My goal still is a live in caregiver from the Philippines but the U.S. Embassy continues to deny visas for caregivers since they are available in USA.  The difference is in the cost; I can not afford a 24/7 live in American, but compared to the Philippine economy, a competent Filipina can realize a financial blessing at a fraction of what I would have to pay an American.

Today is a good day!  Thank you Lord!

6 Comments

  1. jim Barry said,

    July 22, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Isn’t love great. So happy for you both. May you have many days, weeks, months, and even years of things going so well. You both be BLESSED.

  2. Fr Francis Wardega said,

    July 22, 2010 at 10:45 am

    May the peace of Christ be with you. Nice picture. Nice report.

  3. Jack Dabney said,

    July 22, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    I found myself spontaneously thanking God for the ways that His blessing is presently manifesting in your lives. I am so glad for you both to be enjoying this time. Grace and peace and joy,

    Jack

  4. Juli & Michael said,

    July 22, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    We are both very pleased for all of your happiness

  5. Catherine Crotty said,

    July 25, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Beautiful photo of beautiful people!!

  6. Nancy Caroline Moore said,

    July 25, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Praise God from whom all blessings flow! So happy to hear “all” the good news. The picture is precious just as each of you are. Thank God for the right kinds and amounts of medicine, the loving carefgivers, for your own home to be with one another in and the unwaivering faith that you so unassumingly exhibit. Prayer is a powerful tool. I. for one, will continue my daily prayers for the both of you.


Leave a comment